Thoughts On Love

I was reading about love tonight in the Bible. This is really just going to be a conglomeration of some verses that really stood out to me.

“And we have known and believed the love that God hath to us. God is love; and he that dwelleth in love dwelleth in God, and God in him.” I John 4:16

“There is no fear in love; but perfect love casteth out fear: because fear hath torment. He that feareth is not made perfect in love.” I John 4:18 kjv

Let’s read that last one in the Amplified Version:

“There is no fear in love [dread does not exist], but full-grown (complete, perfect) love turns fear out of doors and expels every trace of terror! For fear brings with it the thought of punishment, and [so] he who is afraid has not reached the full maturity of love [is not yet grown into love’s complete perfection].” I John 4:18 Amplified

“For this is the message that ye heard from the beginning, that we should love one another.” I John 3:11

“And this is His commandment, that we should believe on the name of His Son Jesus Christ, and love on another, as He gave us commandment.” I John 3:23

“Beloved, let us love one another: for love is of God; and everyone that loveth is born of God, and knoweth God. He that loveth not knoweth not God; for God is love.” I John 4: 7-8

“Beloved, if God so loved us, we ought also to love one another.” I John 4:11

“And thou shalt love the Lord they God with all they heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy mind, and with all thy strength: this is the first commandment. And the second is like, namely this, thou shalt love thy neighbour as thyself. There is none other commandment greater than these.” Mark 12:30-31

“A new commandment I give unto you, that ye love on another; as I have loved you, that you also love on another.” John 13:34

“Owe no many any thing, but to love on another: for he that loveth another hath fulfilled the law.” Romans 13:8

“But the fruit of the Spirit is love . . . ” Galatians 5:22a

That is only a small smattering of the verses I could have cited here . . . but it makes it pretty obvious that love is important. It is vital.

But what is love?

“Love is patient, love is kind and is not jealous; love does not brag and is not arrogant, does not act unbecomingly; it does not seek its own, is not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things. Love never fails; but if there are gifts of prophecy, they will be done away; if there are tongues, they will cease; if there is knowledge, it will be done away.” I Corinthians 13:4-8

There’s what love is. Do I love? Does that describe me?

Grace is patient, Grace is kind and is not jealous; Grace does not brag and is not arrogant, [Grace] does not act unbecomingly; [she] does not seek [her] own, [she is] not provoked, does not take into account a wrong suffered, does not rejoice in unrighteousness, but rejoices with the truth; [Grace] bears all things, believes all things, hopes all things, endures all things.

Uh . . . *gulp*

I’m still so lacking in such a vital area. Oh! that I would truly love with God’s love! That true love would be a fruit of my life! I fall so far short.

Lord, teach me to love!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Thoughts On Love

  1. Brian Tang says:

    Hey there. I was googling William Wilberforce’s famous quote: Having seen all this you can choose to look the other way, but you can never say again, ‘I did not know.’ And the first post that came up was an old blogpost that you had with the quote as its title.

    And I couldn’t help myself but just took the opportunity to read the whole post. And it was about you wrestling and struggling to give up your life of comfort in the US to dedicating your life serving God by ministering to orphans. I was truly moved by your blogpost as I myself have felt this acute pain reading all that children are going through (I am only 20 myself).

    After reading that, i decided to hit your latest post, and it read “April 2010”. That’s a a year and a half ago. And I scrolled down and saw your second last post that you’re in Uganda now 😀 I was very thrilled seeing that! You seriously inspired me when I saw that you just took the leap of faith of Christ! Hahaha. I highly doubt you will see this post from a complete stranger since you haven’t updated your blog for such a long time. But God-willing, you’ll somehow bump into this comment 🙂

    I’m writing this comment for a single reason: i wanna say what an amazing thing you have done for the glory of our Lord and King. He surely is proud of your commitment and that leap of faith. If there’s something i can encourage you with, i shall quote Romans 8:38-39: For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord. In the midst of it all, always remember His love for you, and may that overflow into love for the unloveable 🙂

    Lastly, I myself hope to be a missionary someday, and looking to head to Africa. I’m from Malaysia, but as I’m typing this, I’m in Manchester, UK studying Mechanical Engineering, only in my first year. i hope this degree will help me serve the Lord and the people of Africa and anywhere else He wants me to go. That’s the only reason why I’m studying this course 😀 So, Hi Grace, I’m Brian! Very nice to meet a blessed Sister in Christ! hahaha. May you keep shining your light, keep giving taste and life to this world as the salt of the earth, and may His Face ever be upon you, now and forever , AMEN 😀

    P.S, I don’t think i’ll ever be bumping into this blog again (it was a coincidence after all!) – so if ever you see this, sadly don’t bother replying 🙂

  2. Elisa says:

    I found your blog on accident. I lived for three years in Malawi at a mission hospital. I understand your passion. I’m just curious what happened since 2010 and after Uganda? I hope you have pursued other passions with the same energy and that God is continuing to use you. Blessing for your service and inspiration…. My stories are at missionmalawi08.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

