On life in Africa

Rainy season has hit Uganda. It was extremely noticeable since I got here during dry season and was here when rainy season hit–there’s no doubt in your mind as to what season it is. πŸ˜‰ There are still hot days, but . . . I actually got cold last night! On the days it does rain, it’s pretty cool and nice. The hot days are all the more muggier, though. I’m drinking in all the lush green-ness while I can! …the mud is crazy, though. 55 kids + mud = lots and lots of baths!

I went to Kampala today with the nurse from Amani. We got the business taken care of that we had to do, and then we went to lunch and visited a few mall type stores (we were in the upper-class part of Kampala!) and several grocery stores (that actually resembled real live grocery stores!). It was the first time I’d done anything but drive through there. It still really hits me hard how there can be tenement villages with beggar children and starving people within a few blocks of the most expensive hotel in Uganda. Reality is SO different here than what we are used to in America.

Tomorrow I am planning on going to visit Katie (www.kissesfromkatie.blogspot.com). If it doesn’t rain too hard, anyway! Boda rides are pretty painful in pelting downpours. πŸ˜‰ I’m really excited about meeting Katie, though . . . I’ve been in contact with her online a bit and have been following her blog for almost a year. She’s such an inspiration to me! Β Such a vibrant, beautiful young woman who is all-out following her Jesus!

I’ve been thinking about my time here in Uganda. Coming into this trip, I asked the Lord to rid me of myself. I didn’t want to be driven by selfish motives; I didn’t want to cling to my own agenda; I longed to be strengthened in the Lord, for my flesh to be weakened–drastically. I wanted to see His heart as never before. I wanted to be broken. This was my prayer.

Oh, the Lord answers prayer. πŸ™‚ My flesh has been weakened, my faith in HIM has been stretched and strengthened, I have met with countless opportunities to love in the face of opposition, the story of my time here has been a daily choosing to give up on my own desires and wishes, I have been helpless–and found strength in my Lord, I’ve been lonely–and found overwhelming peace and comfort in my Saviour. And through all of it . . . the pain and weakness, the hard times, the sick times . . . the blessings have far outweighed all of it! God has brought me into deeper intimacy with Him than ever before; His glory has been manifest each and every day! I love Him more each day. To see God’s hand at work in my own life and the lives of those around me is something I never want to become “used to” . . . what a wonderful and awesome thing it truly is! How blessed we are. And I will forever be grateful for the dear, sweet people I have met on this trip–lifelong friends, for sure!

There has been something I’ve been struggling with before the Lord in the last few days. I’m so broken inside . . . and yet I know what the Lord is saying to me. I know. . . even as the tears blind me. It is another faith-stretcher. Yet another situation that has brought me running into the arms of Jesus. Decisions to be made, things I must face. Please keep me in your prayers during this time!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to On life in Africa

  1. Dorcas Schrock says:

    Hello! πŸ™‚

    I was wondering if you would mind putting me on your email list? My email address is luvmyJesus91@yahoo.com. Thank you very much & God bless your life! You are an inspiration to me! ~Dorcas

Leave a Reply

