Spent

I have been pondering the word “spent”. I’m not sure what sparked that thought in me, but…think about it with me.

In general, a lot of people use that word to denote time passing–people say they spent their day doing this; they spent their life pursuing that. Or that something was used–they spent their last resources on that; they spent their energy on such and such.

I want to be able to say at the end of my days that my life was spent serving Christ and bringing Him the glory due His name. I want all the time that passes and all that I have to give to be used for Him!

But. There is so much more to that word!

Definitions:

exhausted: depleted of energy, force, or strength

drained of energy or effectiveness; extremely tired; completely exhausted

used up; consumed

I want to spend my life in serving God. I want every last breath in me to be used up for His cause; I long for every last bit of energy in me to be entirely used up in serving the “least of these”; when I die, I want my body to be completely exhausted from spending all my time bringing God glory with my life; I want all my resources to be used up and consumed on the things of the Lord; I want to have no strength left in me when my life ends from having poured all I have out for God; I want to die in the midst of service to God.

I want everything I have and am to be spent on serving, learning, growing, worshiping, wrestling, fighting the good fight. Giving up all that I am to be spent for Christ. I desire that there would be nothing left in me of myself–that I would give ALL that I have for Him! This is truly what I want for my life.

And I more than want it. I am desperate for it. I am fighting for it.

I was also thinking about the fact that this isn’t just something an obnoxiously radical Christian should be doing, either. This is the life the Lord has called each of us to live. His life was truly spent serving those around Him–and all of us. He gave us the free gift of salvation…..free for the taking for anyone who steps forward and takes it. It is free and yet it costs everything. Our life is entirely His in return for accepting that gift–and what a beautiful concept that is! It may sound like drudgery to those who haven’t surrendered… “I want to be ‘saved’ and not have to give my life to anyone else…what’s up with that!? Who does that??”

To me it is beautiful.

God, take my life–let it be entirely spent and used up on bringing You the glory You are so worthy of receiving!

Ephesians 6:10-18 . . . go read it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Spent

  1. britt says:

    so beautiful, Gracie. 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

