“According to your faith will it be done to you.”

Yesterday I spent a good chunk of my afternoon/evening just in sweet fellowship with my Lord. It was so precious. I spent a lot of time in prayer for some very specific things–one of those things was for God to push my faith to a deeper level, to stretch me, to not let me plateau. Well, lo and behold, within hours God answered that prayer.

And my flesh is fighting it tooth and nail. There’s been a mighty battle raging since then.

To the human side of things, it seems so stupid to give this specific thing up to the Lord and not try to make things happen through my own devices. But God is very specifically wanting all of my trust and faith in Him, and Him alone.

Can I do that? Can I trust Him with something that dear to my heart? When it comes down to actual real-life, do I believe that God’s promises are true promises?

My flesh interjects with desperate cries of “Don’t do it!” My heart says “The righteous shall live by faith.”

God is saying “Here’s an opportunity for you to trust Me. If you can believe, everything is possible to him that believes (Mark 9:23).”

Lord, I believe. Help thou mine unbelief!

I say yes. I can and will give this to the Lord. He deserves my trust more than anything else in this world deserves it. Why would I choose to put trust in me over the Lord of the universe who sent His own Son to die for my sake?

This is definitely stretching for me–and at the same time it’s hard to realize that there are still so many areas where my flesh is so desperately trying to gain a stronger hold.

So, with the Lord’s help, I give Him this area that I’m so balking against giving up. The more I want to keep it, the more I need to give it over to Him. Completely.

I realize the lack of faith I’ve had in my life, and I refuse to let that linger. I cannot live a life set-apart for the Lord and still have massive areas that I refuse to trust to the Lord’s care. It doesn’t work.

My faith is in You, Lord. Entirely. Flesh will not gain the upper hand. Thank you for these times of stretching and learning and deeper levels of trust and hope in You! Oh, what beauty there is in trusting You!

In Him and through faith in Him we may approach God with freedom and confidence. ~Ephesians 3:12

Faith is deliberate confidence in the character of God whose ways you may not understand at the time. ~Oswald Chambers

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “According to your faith will it be done to you.”

  1. Thanks for sharing the link with me. 🙂 You have a swell looking blog.

    Daniel

  2. Leah says:

    Hey Grace! Thanks for reading my blog! How did you find it? And I know exactly who you are. You made an ‘announcement’ at the Set Apart Girl’s Conference about Katie and her ministry and the blog she has which is how I started following her blog 🙂 Anyways, thank you so much for your sweet comment! I am so excited about going to Ellerslie, and I too have been blown away by how God has so faithfully worked everything out. I am so eager to see all that He will continue to do in the months to come!

Leave a Reply

