“But what can I do right now?”

  • Pray. Pray pray pray.
  • Find an organization to volunteer with (here in my town there is a large organization which receives lots and lots of donations–truck loads, even–and sorts them all out and sends pallet upon pallet loads of clothing, unperishables, etc, to other countries in need . . . and they are in desperate need of help from volunteers!)
  • This sounds simple and vague at the same time, but . . . see a need and fill it. Don’t wait for someone else to come along.
  • Spread awareness in your own community. Do fundraisers! (I know about a group of people who got together not long ago and did a fundraiser in their city–they received $30,000+ from it, and it was all donated toward facilitating adoptions.)
  • Look into the Big Brother/Big Sister program near you–change a young person’s life by investing in them and pouring love into their lives.
  • Stop with the trips to the coffee shop, ice cream shop, impulse buying, movie rentals/theaters, new clothes (most people have more than they need, y’know!), that CD you absolutely need, and any other unnecessary things you spend money on–every time you get the urge to spend your money on something you really don’t need, take the amount of money you would have spent and put it away somewhere. Then donate that stash to a worthy cause . . . you’ll be surprised how it builds up!
  • Refuse to stay in your comfort zone. Don’t be afraid to do things that stretch yourself! Be willing to go outside of your own little world–even in seemingly little things like being willing to be friendly. Talk to people! Share your passion for Christ, even with another sister or brother in the Lord–encourage them!
  • Sponsor a child! Or two. Or three. Or a whole family.
  • These are just a few of the things I’ve thought of in the last little while. I’m sure you could come up with so many more, too! If we would just look around us, there is so much we can do if we’re only willing to roll up our sleeves and do it! Oh, what an honor it is to be able to minister to the needy and show Christ’s love to them! I pray that I would be brought always to a greater awareness of the need around me. Wake me up from my laxness, Lord!

    Lots more ideas at this website I just found: http://www.familiessavingorphans.org/fso/waystohelp.cfm

    This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

    3 Responses to “But what can I do right now?”

    1. Marissa says:

      Oooh. Big Brother/Sister. You know, months ago, before I even moved out here, I wanted to get involved in something like that, but never got around to it, and then forgot. 🙂 I’m glad you reminded me.

    2. Dorcas says:

      Thanks for this list! I ran across your blog awhile back, & found it very inspiring & challenging! Recently I’ve been wondering what I can do to help the orphans, needy, etc. I can’t go at the present, altho I wish so badly I could! I’m trying to learn to be content here where God has me for the time being, (kinda hard sometimes!) & I pray that God would open my eyes to those in need around me.
      Anyway, this is a long comment- I don’t even know you!:) But just wanted to say I really enjoy your blog!:) ~Dorcas

    3. Southern Sudan Humanitarian says:

      Hey there, I am with Southern Sudan Humanitarian, a non-profit organization dedicated to helping orphans and other needy children in the war-torn region of Southern Sudan. To find out more about how you can help give these kids more hope for a brighter future, visit sudanhelp.org . Thanks and God bless you!

    Leave a Reply

    