Having seen all this you can choose to look the other way, but you can never say again, ‘I did not know.’ -William Wilberforce

My heart is so full, but I feel like there is so much inside my mind and heart that I don’t even know where to begin. (And my ‘e’ key isn’t working properly, so it makes typing anything lengthy a bit frustrating.)

My mind is full of so many ideas and thoughts about how I can serve the Lord with my life. Where do I even start?

I was reading in James where it says “Religion that God our Father accepts as pure and faultless is this: to look after orphans and widows in their distress and to keep oneself from being polluted by the world.” That seems pretty straight forward to me. And, to look at the statistics in my last post–the need is great.

It really is the passionate desire and purpose of my life to give all up for Christ. I refuse to let my life go to waste. I refuse to get caught up in the laziness and calloused-ness that living in ease in America so facilitates. I say no.

I know that I am serving the Lord where I’m at right now. I have put other things in my life on hold while I help out with a big project which I believe is going to be huge in furthering God’s kingdom and spreading the gospel to the world. I love where I’m at and how God is working.

But I feel it so strongly laid on my heart to “Go.” To give up everything. To minister to “the least of these.” Am I willing? Am I going to let my dreams and desires get in the way? Am I going to let something as noble and worthy as “but I’m serving God wholeheartedly right where I’m at!” get in the way of answering what has been laid on my heart?

I know life lived in and among the wretched-ness of the poor and destitue is not easy. I’ve read things that make me go pale and get sick to my stomach. I desperately try to cling to the idea that “surely other, better-suited people will go!” I grasp wildly at the thoughts of “I’m needed here!” My head says “There’s no way that could be good for you to experience with your health the way it is.” But where does trusting God come into the picture?

Trusting God doesn’t come into the picture . . . it is the picture. Is there life outside of giving all you have to the Lord and trusting Him with everything you are? Anything else is death.

So I make the decision to go . . . to give up a life of ease . . . to embrace the God-given passion in my life to help the orphans especially. And I am so excited to see God work. My heart thrills.

I am such a blessed girl. I have been given so much. I am loved. I am loved beyond measure. I have the support and care and love of the best family a girl could ask for. I have a circle of friends that love me–I can’t imagine life without them. I have been showered with so much love during my life. And now God is asking me to share that with others . . . to spend my life in pouring out God’s love into the lives of needy, hurting, broken people.

My heart aches when I see the plight of the orphans in the world. Millions of them. Many starving to death every day. Many being exploited for manual labor or sex slavery. Some being neglected and looked on as cursed just because they are from their father’s first wife. Some being pushed aside in the adoption process simply because they aren’t “white”. Many dying simply because they haven’t had a bath in their life and their bodies are eating away at themselves. 3 year olds taking care of the family cooking while the 8 year old goes out to try to beg money and food. Tears fall unheeded as I read about these poor children . . .

We can do something! No matter what your place is in life, you can do something! Not everyone is going to go overseas. Not everyone is going to start an orphange. Not everyone is going to adopt. Not everyone is in a financially stable situation to donate funds. But look around you . . . there are options! If you don’t believe me, or are having a hard time finding things you can do . . . ask me. I’ll find something you can do! I’ll make a list, even. 😉

(I am generally not one to post videos in my blog, because a lot of people take advantage of that . . . but, this video is touching and heart-breaking and really touched something inside of me.)

Having seen all this you can choose to look the other way, but you can never say again, ‘I did not know.’ -William Wilberforce

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Having seen all this you can choose to look the other way, but you can never say again, ‘I did not know.’ -William Wilberforce

  1. Brittany says:

    I do indeed believe you. Even so, I would love to see that list!

    I’m so glad you’re my friend, Gracie. You bless me.

Leave a Reply

