The unreasonableness of humans

I don’t understand how humans can be so daft. Myself included. So thick-headed. The extent of it is really legendary and . . . pathetic.

We think we deserve this and that from the Lord . . . we think we deserve to sit in our little corner and horde parts of our lives for ourselves. “God can’t take that from me! I deserve some happiness in life! If I give that up, life will be miserable! God wouldn’t do that to me!” we say–whether actually, or subconsciously. God gave everything for us–all the way to giving His own Son to die for us. He has made salvation available to us! He has given us life and that more abundantly! And we actually think we He still owes us something? Think again.

We read in the Bible that our body is the temple of the Holy Spirit. God dwells within us! And what do we do with that very temple? Desecrate it daily through our actions, words, thoughts. How can we think this is ok? How can we take it so lightly that God has made us His temple?

We say we want our lives to consist of all these wonderful godly attributes . . . and yet we don’t do our part. We simply sit back and pine after them–wishing we had peace and contentment, wanting to be a mighty prayer warrior, desperately wanting a passionate relationship with the Lord, longing after a pure heart, wishing we were more humble and courageous. But we don’t do anything about it. We live the same lives we’ve always lived, with perhaps a slight amount more time in prayer, reading the Bible here and there. We fill our lives with trivial worldly things that bring no glory to the Lord.

We are so selfish and self-centered.

Even when we think we our walk with the Lord is at a “good place”, simply because we’ve progressed further than where we had been six months ago . . . there is so much more to be had!

Where is the passion? Where is the digging ever deeper? Where is the crying out to God and begging Him to wake us up from this apathetic-ness we’re wallowing in? Where does us getting off our rear-ends and taking the steps to wrestle for that relationship with the Lord come in?

We have to do our part. We cannot give into this self-centered behaviour!

Do something about it! Radically change your life . . . do whatever it takes! Give up the things that are getting in the way–the distractions. It’s worth it. I gaurantee you it’s worth it. I’ve started on this path of overhauling my life and can see how wonderful it really is! There is still so much I need to take care of and root out, but . . . by God’s help, it will be rooted out! And the process is painful, and daunting . . . and so rewarding!

Listen to God’s voice!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The unreasonableness of humans

  1. bexielouhou says:

    I needed to read this…more than I even want to admit. Thank you, Gracie, for sharing your heart… 🙂

  2. Brittany says:

    Thank you so much. That was painful to read, but I needed that. How many things do I set before Him as idols? How many “tiny, little things” do I think “Noooooo, please not THAT! Just give me THAT and I will be perfectly content!” It reminds me of Jesus saying that whoever loves their wife or parents or anyone more than Him is not worthy of Him. And here He was talking about PEOPLE, not just stupid little comforts and pleasures.

    I feel a bit overwhelmed, but it is so reassurring to know that I’m not alone. I don’t have to plunge into the darkness with a Samwise Gamgee at my side. An entire fellowship, in fact.

  3. Brittany says:

    *WITHOUT a Samwise Gamgee! That’s what I was trying to say. It came out entirely the opposite. 😛

Leave a Reply

