Just thoughts..

People ask me “Well, don’t you wish you didn’t have to give up such-and-such?” or “Don’t you want to be able to do *this*?”

Yes. There are times when the thought of living a nice, easy, know-what-is-going-to-happen-next sort of life is what I want. There are times when I love the thought of being able to just hang out with my friends every day after work. There are times when I look into the future and think “When am I going to be able to sit on the kitchen counter and eat ice cream? When will I be able to do random shopping trips with my friends? When am I going to get time for me?” There are times when all I want is just more sleep.

I want a lot of earthly selfish things sometimes.

But I always want what God has for me. I know that a life lived with HIM, through HIM, and because of HIM is worth giving up everything. There are things that I sometimes want in this world, but I always want to live my life with God as the focus–not me. Sometimes the things of this world threaten to take over, but “Never!” I say. God’s way has so much more going for us than man’s way! Even though we may not see with things with our human eye, we can have trust and faith in God–and I find that to be a beautiful thing!

Things are changing in my life. Things are changing almost daily–big things, little things, important things, miniscule things. But all of them and each of them would be daunting if not bathed in prayer. Prayer is so important and so powerful!

The trip to Africa that I was going to be telling you more about might be postponed until next autumn. The Lord is opening up so many opportunities and doors. I have begged and pleaded for direction, and though it has been hard for me to give up on the thought of Africa for now, when I felt like I had such direction from the Lord in that–I now feel like He is guiding me in a different path for the time being. I really am at peace about it. Who can honestly get by with not having peace when you think about the fact that the God of the universe is with you each and every step of the way? Praise the Lord!

“Each time you intercede, be quiet first and worship God in His glory. Think of what He can do, of how He delights to hear Christ, of your place in Christ, and expect great things.” -Andrew Murray

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Just thoughts..

  1. Christy says:

    Your thoughts bring tears to my eyes, dearest. I love seeing the heart of God in others. It is so relieving to be able to say with confidence that, no matter what else you may sometimes want, you want God’s working in you to be completed. And so humbling. And exciting. And scary. And simply wonderful.
    This is life eternal. Knowing Him.
    I love you.
    I love Him more.
    Isn’t that nice?

Leave a Reply

