Lost in Christ–laying down our own selves.

The Lord has been impressing on my heart so strongly lately the fact that I need to be a no one in this world.

I need to be completely lost in Christ. I don’t want anyone seeing me when they look at me–I want them to see Christ and His fullness in me.

I want to have an intimacy with Christ that surpasses anything I’ve ever experienced before on this earth.

I want my identity to be that of my Lord and Saviour.

It can be so hard in this day and age to have a life that is wholly set-apart for God. There are so many things that get in the way. How much time do I spend taking quizzes on Facebook? How intimate am I with my music? Do people know me for my style? Where do you get I identity and purpose in life? Is it by living vicariously through the movies and TV shows I watch and the books I read?

Am I living a sensual life? Are you?

Sen-su-al
– adjective
1. pertaining to, inclined to, or preoccupied with the gratification of the senses.
2. worldly
3. arousing or exciting the senses or appetites.

Are the movies we choose to watch picked because that’s what our senses are wanting at the time? A sappy romantic movie that appeals to that part of us?  Are we making unwise choices in the way we eat because our senses want it–because it will make us feel good? (I’m not saying eating good food is a bad thing at all!) Are we reading worthless fluffy romance novels (with a “christian” title on it!) because we can escape from reality for awhile and it feels good? What am I willing to do to have Christ first in my life?

Search your heart. What needs to change in your life? What is lacking? What is there that shouldn’t be there? There may be things that are perfectly fine for someone else, but you may realize that they’re getting in the way of your walk with God. Nothing can come before your relationship with the Lord.

God says, “You will seek Me and find Me, when you search for Me with all your heart.” (Jer 29:13 NKJV)

Are we, as young people in a falling world, searching for Him with all of our hearts? What is getting in the way? Be radical about it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

